Love in the Time of Foreclosure… the book!

It’s here! My first book. Love in the Time of Foreclosure.

What’s it about? It’s about how my husband and I created our dream life in the face of losing our dream home. It’s the story of how we saved our marriage while losing everything else. It’s about how love conquers all… even foreclosure.

In 2008, my husband lost his job soon after we had completed a major renovation on our Silver Lake home. Our only back-up plan was to sell the house. We listed the house, found new jobs (at a combined 60% less than my husband’s previous salary alone) and quickly found ourselves fighting foreclosure at the beginning of the housing crisis.

We made a pledge to each other to rise above our financial crisis. We were committed to learning everything we could from the experience and actually creating the life of our dreams. Love in the Time of Foreclosure tells the story of how we did that. The ups, the downs, the maddening struggle for a loan modification, the re-calibrating of our priorities and perception of the world, the selling of everything and everything else in between.

Who would buy it? According to author Janelle Brown, “anyone who owns, has owned or fantasizes about owning a home.” It’s also the perfect fit for anyone who is in foreclosure, worried about foreclosure, unemployed and/or struggling with something major in their life or relationship.

PRAISE FOR LOVE IN THE TIME OF FORECLOSURE

Stephanie Walker has the wit to transform the shame and anxiety of foreclosure into a genuine human adventure. Its a rare story-teller who can endure the soul-shaking loss of a home, and the concurrent stress on relationships, and see through that – one’s higher priorities in life. Stephanie does this with the kind of humor and personal insight that challenges the fierce attachment that we have to bricks and boards, and she leads us to a new understanding of what’s really important as  “home”.

Dick Gordon, “Host of “The Story”, heard on public radio stations, nationwide.”

Stephanie Walker writes about tough experiences with honesty, humor and a good dose of optimism. Her story is a window on a downturn that affected millions of Americans—for worse, but also sometimes better. There are life lessons in here for all of us.

Sara Clemence, co-founder of Recessionwire

“Love in the Time of Foreclosure” is essential reading for anyone who owns, has owned, or fantasizes about owning a home. Stephanie Walker’s personal real estate horror story is wrenching and emotionally honest, as she explores the impact of home ownership on relationships, dreams, and self-identity.

Janelle Brown, author of “All We Ever Wanted Was Everything” and “This Is Where We Live”

Where can I buy it?

Love in the Time of Foreclosure is available for the Kindle on Amazon and for the Nook on Barnes & Noble.

Where can I find out more about the book?

From my publisher– Outpost19.

Enhanced by Zemanta
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Love in the Time of Foreclosure… the book!

  1. Margarite says:

    I would love to read the book, since i am facing the same challages, but I don’t have access to Kindle on amazon or nook on barnes and noble. Will it ever be on paperback?

  2. Matthew says:

    Hi, Steph! You can count this as another paperback request. I know, I can download the free Kindle App and strain my eyes reading the rest of your very entertaining book on my computer screen, as I did the preview. I’d really rather curl up and read it with my wife on the couch! Lulu.com?

    • iamsaw says:

      Matthew… noted. Trust me, I’d love a physical copy too. Need more people to buy the digital version to warrant that. My agreement with my publisher is for the digital only. But perhaps in the future. You can be sure that I’ll announce it here if that were to materialize! But, thank you for your support and kind words. I truly love the image of a couple curled up reading it together. I picture you in front of a fire, of course.

      • Matthew says:

        Okay, I bought the digital copy and, with an inexpensive eReader, curled up on the couch and read it with my wife. We got to reflect on choices we’ve been making and reaffirm our commitments to each other, whatever our financial reality may become. Though we’ve always rented and aren’t in foreclosure right now, we really enjoyed your book and appreciated the conversations that ensued. Thank you.

Leave a comment